NC's Dr. Shekhar Koirala Elected From Morang-6

Nov 25,Kathmandu: Nepali Congress (NC) influential leader Dr. Shekhar Koirala has been elected from Morang Constituency-6. Koirala has been elected to the House of Representatives(HoR) by defeating Lalbabu Pandit of CPN-UML.

Koirala  got 35 thousand 213 votes while Pandit was limited to 22 thousand 929 votes. The difference between Koirala and Pandit is 12,284. This time, Koirala has decided to travel to the HoR taking revenge for the defeat .

BeFore 5 years ago with the same Pandit. The door of the HoR was closed for Koirala when he lost to Pandit in the 2017 AD election by a margin of 675 votes. At that time Pandit got 33 thousand 941 votes while Koirala got only 33 thousand 266 votes.

Koirala won the first Constituent Assembly by-election (2008 AD) and the second Constituent Assembly election (2013 AD) from this constituency. But he was defeated in 2017 AD. He started politics in the year 1970 AD from Biratnagar's Mahendra Morang Campus by joining Congress' sister organization Nepal Student Union (NSU). Received party membership in 1971 AD. Active in Congress politics, Koirala remained a central member of the party till its 11th, 12th and 13th congresses.

He was defeated by Sher Bahadur Deuba, who rose to the party chairmanship in the 14th Congress. Koiralal is currently leading other groups within the party. He is the son of Nona Koirala, an established leader in the Congress, and is a resident of Biratnagar Metropolitan City-7. Koirala, 72, holds an MD from All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), India.

He is considered to be the initiator of the 12-point comprehensive peace agreement with the then rebel Maoists. Acting as an aide to the then Prime Minister Girija Prasad Koirala, Koirala, who held talks with Maoist Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda', played a constructive role in the creation of the interim constitution.

Koirala, who filed an amendment proposal in the Constituent Assembly to ensure the inclusion of Madhesi, Muslims, women, Dalits and tribals in every body of the state, regardless of the 'whip' of the Congress, has received the 'Constituent Assembly Member Medal' from the state.